Ladbrokes Challenge Cup first round draw

Former Hull FC captain and back-to-back Ladbrokes Challenge Cup winner Gareth Ellis will be joined by England assistant coach, Paul Wellens on Tuesday December 12 (7.00pm) for the first round draw of the 2018 competition.

The draw will be conducted at MediaCity and will be live streamed on the BBC Sport website.

Forty-eight sides will go into the draw to participate in one of the country’s oldest sporting tournaments with the first round of the 2018 Ladbrokes Challenge Cup played on January 27-28.

National Conference League Premier Division champions Thatto Heath Crusaders are joined by beaten Grand Finalists Siddal, who pushed Toronto Wolfpack to their limits in round three of last year’s Challenge Cup competition.

2017 Challenge Trophy winners, Hunslet Club Parkside, feature in the competition alongside a host of fellow NCL clubs such as, Rochdale Mayfield, Normanton Knights, Myton Warriors, Kells, West Hull and Wath Brow Hornets.

The Army, Royal Air Force, Royal Navy and the Police all represent the Services, while the University of Hull are the student game’s representatives for the second year running.

Elsewhere, Wallsend Eagles, the winners of the North East Men’s League are first-time entrants, alongside London Rugby League champions, Hammersmith Hills Hoists.

Strathmore Silverbacks, champions of Scotland, are joined in the first round by Welsh League winners, Valley Cougars and Irish League winners, Longhorns.

Full list of first round draw numbers:

  1. Askham
  2. Batley Boys
  3. Beverley
  4. Bradford Dudley Hill
  5. British Army
  6. British Police
  7. Crosfields
  8. Distington
  9. Drighlington
  10. East Leeds
  11. Featherstone Lions
  12. Hammersmith Hills Hoists
  13. Hensingham
  14. Hindley
  15. Huddersfield Underbank
  16. Hull University
  17. Hunslet Club Parkside
  18. Hunslet Warriors
  19. Kells
  20. Leigh Miners
  21. Lock Lane
  22. London Chargers
  23. Longhorns RL
  24. Loughborough
  25. Milford Marlins
  26. Millom
  27. Myton Warriors
  28. Normanton Knights
  29. Northampton Demons
  30. Orrell St James
  31. Oulton Raiders
  32. Pilkington Recs
  33. Queens
  34. Royal Air Force
  35. Rochdale Mayfield
  36. Royal Navy
  37. Saddleworth Rangers
  38. Shaw Cross
  39. Siddal
  40. Skirlaugh
  41. Strathmore Silverbacks
  42. Valley Cougars
  43. Thatto Heath Crusaders
  44. Thornhill Trojans
  45. Wallsend Eagles
  46. Wath Brow
  47. West Hull
  48. York Acorn

The first round draw for the 2017 Ladbrokes Challenge Cup will take place on Tuesday, December 12 from 7.00pm with fixtures scheduled for January 27-28. Fans can see the draw streamed exclusively live on the BBC website.

Tickets for the 2018 Ladbrokes Challenge Cup final at Wembley Stadium connected by EE on Saturday 25 August are on sale now. This big day out is amazing value for money with junior tickets for just £5. Not only that but book Club Wembley seats before 9 January for just £40, saving £15 with early bird prices. Visit for more information and to book.

Shire Self Storage
1895 Sports
H Mullaney & Son
CDX Security
Donkeystone Brewery Co
Purpose Business and Marketing
Oldham Reporter
The Property Buying Company
Swans Travel
Premier Kia
The Oldham Times
University of Salford
Spindles Town Square
Bamford Print