Oldham RLFC

The Roughyeds


Oldham aiming to spoil Town’s home record

OLDHAM are bidding to become the first League 1 side to win at Derwent Park this season.

Workington have lost three of their first seven league games, but they’re unbeaten in League 1 action at home where the only team to win so far this year was Championship outfit London Broncos in the Challenge Cup.

And even that was desperately close — 20-22.

Bradford Bulls were pipped in another thriller and Town now believe they can make Derwent Park into a fortress and go through the league campaign with a 100 per cent home record.

“Overall, we need to be more consistent, but Oldham have also been inconsistent of late. They’re a scalp we’ll be looking to take,” said assistant boss Craig McDowell.

His reference to inconsistency followed defeat at Hunslet, where they let a substantial lead slip and felt the wrath of head coach Leon Pryce, and then what Pryce described as a big response in beating North Wales Crusaders 20-12 at Workington.

“Like all Cumbrian teams they play much better at home than they do away,” said Roughyeds boss Scott Naylor.

Town’s 19-man squad shows four changes from last week with Sam Forrester, the division’s top try scorer, Jonah Cunningham, Scott Akehurst and Larne Patrick (dual reg from Leigh Centurions) dropping out.

Centre Akehurst (knee) has joined an injury list which has also claimed Sean Penkywicz and Gordon Maudling.

Also excluded is new capture Fuifui Moimoi, Tongan-born, whose visa is still awaited.

The four stepping up to the 19 are Jamie Foster, the former St Helens winger; utility back Jordan Tansey; Joe Ryder, a former Warrington Wolves prop; and half-back Scott Leatherbarrow, who was an Oldham player last season.

Carl Forber and Jamie Doran have been regular half-backs and Town fans on social media are suggesting Leatherbarrow might be included in the 17 as hooker James Newton’s replacement off the bench.

Town (from): Oliver Wilkes (capt), Jamie Doran, Caine Barnes (loan), Scott Rooke, Kurt Maudling, Carl Forber, Jamie Foster, Perry Singleton, Jordan Tansey, Scott Leatherbarrow, Stevie Scholey, Joey Ryan, Andrew Dawson, Jack Blagbrough (dual-reg), Karl Ostrom, Nick Gregson (dual-reg), Elliot Miller, James Newton, John Patrick.


News Categories

Club Cash

SINCE Covid-19 caused us to temporarily abandon door-to-door CLUB CASH lottery collections last Spring there’s never been a better time to come on board and help Roughyeds to get through these hugely challenging times.

Why? The £500-a-week rollover jackpot is back — not only that there are now TWO £50 prizes and TWO £25 prizes in addition to the first prize of £1,000, a second prize of £100 and ten consolation prizes of £10.

But the return of the jackpot is the big lottery news. It’s back this week and it’s been won first time out, so next week’s jackpot is again £500 but if nobody touches lucky it will go up to £1,000 the following week and increase by £500 a week, if not won, to a maximum of £10,000.

We have seriously missed the regular income from collections on the doorstep, but we cannot thank too much those supporters who have got behind the club in these unprecedented times of hardship by keeping their Club Cash memberships going or, indeed, by joining for the first time, knowing that for £1 a week they can help the club to combat Covid and prepare with confidence for the challenges of Betfred Championship rugby in 2021.

You can send a cheque to cover a set number of weeks; take out a bank standing order — our preferred option; complete a bank transfer; or pay for several weeks up front by credit or debit card.

You can download a standing order form by clicking on the link at the end of this news release and following the instructions or you can contact our Club Cash administrator John McAndrew (tel: 07980 129541; email: mcandrewj@aol.com) or speak to the club direct on 07904 898177 or email to: enquiries@roughyeds.co.uk

The easiest way, though, is to download a standing order form below. The latest prize updates are shown on the form as follows (all for £1): £1,000, £100, £50 (2), £25 (2), a number of £10 consolation prizes and the £500-a-week rollover jackpot.

Best of luck!

Download Application Form

Oldham Times
CDX Security
Swans Travel
Betfred Championship
Spindles Town Centre
Oldham Reporter
Shire Self Storage
Salford University
1895 Sports
Bamford Print
H Mullaney & Son
Oldham RLFC
Donkeystone Brewery
Purpose Marketing
Property Buying

125 Years of the RFL

RFL 125 years


Social Media