Oldham RLFC

The Roughyeds


England Knights squad to face PNG in first Test

England Knights head coach Paul Anderson has named 17 players who will take on Papua New Guinea in Lae this Saturday, October 27 (KO 6.00am BST).

Following their impressive displays for England Men’s Elite squad against France last week, Castleford Tigers’ second row Oliver Holmes, Liam Sutcliffe of Leeds Rhinos and

Hull KR’s Robbie Mulhern are all included in the squad.

Knights Captain Jack Hughes is joined by Warrington Wolves’ team mates Toby King, Tom Lineham, Joe Philbin and Declan Patton, who was called up to the squad as a late addition.

Named as vice-captain alongside Mulhern, Wigan Warriors’ Sam Powell is joined by Grand Final winning winger Tom Davies in the side to take on the Kumuls this weekend.

Young Player of the Year nominee Matty Lees is also named alongside Salford Red Devils full-back Niall Evalds, Kruise Leeming of Huddersfield Giants. Hull KR half-back Chris Atkin and Wakefield Trinity’s James Batchelor.

It might not be widely known that Matty Lees, the up-and-coming St Helens forward, lives in Newhey with his parents and has many local connections.

His Dad works in Shaw and supports Roughyeds as a long-standing member of the Oldham RLFC Club Cash lottery.

As a boy, Matthew played for Mayfield before joining the Bradford Bulls Academy and later finding his way to St Helens where he is emerging as one of the bright young prospects in the English game.

Hull FC have two representatives in the side, loose forward Dean Hadley and utility forward Brad Fash.

On Thursday, the Knights fly to Lae for the first match against the Kumuls on Saturday, October 27 before moving to the capital Port Moresby where the teams meet again at the 15,0000-capacity Oil Search National Football Stadium on November 3.

England Knights squad to face PNG in full:

  1. Niall Evalds (Salford Red Devils)
  2. Tom Davies (Wigan Warriors)
  3. Toby King (Warrington Wolves)
  4. Liam Sutcliffe (Leeds Rhinos)
  5. Tom Lineham (Warrington Wolves)
  6. Chris Atkin (Hull KR)
  7. Declan Patton (Warrington Wolves)
  8. Robert Mulhern (Hull KR)
  9. Sam Powell (Wigan Warriors)
  10. Matthew Lees (St Helens)
  11. Oliver Holmes (Castleford Tigers)
  12. Jack Hughes (Warrington Wolves)
  13. Dean Hadley (Hull FC)
  14. Kruise Leeming (Huddersfield Giants)
  15. Joe Philbin (Warrington Wolves)
  16. James Batchelor (Wakefield Trinity)
  17. Brad Fash (Hull FC)


News Categories

Donkeystone Brewery
Salford University
CDX Security
Property Buying
Oldham Times
Purpose Marketing
Swans Travel
H Mullaney & Son
CDX Security


Social Media