RFL launches Southern Conference League for England and Wales

The Rugby Football League is set to launch a new community league for 2019, classed as a Tier 4 competition, for the best community clubs from the south of England and Wales.

The Southern Conference League will feature 14 teams for the 2019 season, following an application process occurring in late 2018. The league will see clubs from Cardiff to Colchester compete for the right to be named 2019 Champion.

The league will be split into two divisions, with one in the East and the other in the West. Top clubs from both divisions will then compete against one another in the end of season play-offs to be crowned overall 2019 Southern Conference League Champions.

The idea behind the league is to provide competitive playing opportunities for the best clubs within southern regional leagues on a weekly basis. It will provide a more intense and longer playing season for all clubs involved.

Marc Lovering, the RFL’s Director of Participation and Development, said: “The Southern Conference League will offer a new level of competition to the south of England and Wales, allowing us to further develop Rugby League in these important regions.

“Having a more competitive league will allow us to showcase the best the south has to offer in one competition – helping us to raise the profile of Rugby League. “

“The launch of the league comes at a good time for the sport within the South and Wales, especially with the return of London Broncos to the Betfred Super League. We hope this will allow us to build on the success already occurring, to grow and develop the game of Rugby League.

“There has been a lot of har

d work behind the scenes from both RFL staff, the Southern Management Group and the various clubs involved. I would like to thank everyone who has been involved thus far.”

The Eastern Division includes Hemel Stags, after their decision to take a year’s break from Betfred League one.

Further details surrounding league structure and fixtures will be announced in the New Year.

The 14 clubs participating with the Southern Conference League in 2019 are:

Western Division:

  • All Golds (Gloucestershire)
  • Cardiff Blue Dragons
  • Swindon St George
  • Torfaen Tigers
  • Valley Cougars

Eastern Division:

  • Bedford Tigers
  • Brixton Bulls
  • Eastern Rhinos
  • Hammersmith Hills Hoists
  • Hemel Stags
  • London Chargers
  • North Herts Crusaders
  • South London Silverbacks
  • Wests Warriors

Shire Self Storage
1895 Sports
H Mullaney & Son
CDX Security
Donkeystone Brewery Co
Purpose Business and Marketing
Oldham Reporter
The Property Buying Company
Swans Travel
Premier Kia
The Oldham Times
University of Salford
Spindles Town Square
Bamford Print