Oldham RLFC

The Roughyeds


Teams will mean business in Law Cup showdown

​SCOTT Naylor is under no illusions about the strength of the side Rochdale Hornets will field at the Vestacare Stadium tomorrow (3pm) when our derby rivals do battle with us for the Law Cup for the first time since 2011 on our home ground.

The Championship side were well below strength when beating amateurs Mayfield 18-12 at Mayfield last Saturday. but they are expected to be as close to full strength as possible for the annual pre-season encounter that has had rival fans on the edge of their seats for the best part of a century.

Danny Bridge, Paul Crook, Danny Grimshaw and Ben Davies are not available for Roughyeds​, so the following 19-man squad will be in action:

OLDHAM: Liam Bent, Anthony Bowman, Ben Calland, Jamie Greenwood, Richie Hawkyard, Dave Hewitt, Jack Holmes, Kyran Johnson, Aaron Jones-Bishop, Phil Joy, Lee Kershaw, Scott Law, Harry Maders, Zack McComb, Luke Nelmes, Gareth Owen (capt), Jack Spencer, Emerson Whittel, Matty Wilkinson.

Apart from winger Kershaw and back-row forward Whittel, all the squad figured prominently in the win at Barrow and some of the newcomers have been going on social media to say how much it means to them to win silverware on their home debuts.

​Said Naylor:

“Both sides will be going flat out to win because this derby means so much to the clubs and to their respective fans.

“Let’s hope the game gets the crowd it deserves and that supporters are treated to a top-class contest. I’m sure they will be.”

Like Roughyeds. Hornets have had a large turnover of players since the end of last season and are also under the wing of a new player-coach in Carl Forster, who had a similar role at Whitehaven last season.

Among his signings for Rochdale is versatile half-back, full-back or hooker Dan Abram, son of former Rochdale and Oldham centre Darren, who was with him at the Recreation Ground in 2018.

His biggest capture without doubt is that of former Super League star Scott Moore, a controversial character and a brilliant player who is expected to be one of the Championship’s shining lights this year.

According to their squad numbers they go into the current campaign with a group of 21:

HORNETS (from) : Dec Kay, Shaun Ainscough, Seta Tala, Ben Morris, Paddy Flynn, Scott Moore, Dan Abram, Ben Moores, Carl Forster, Lee Mitchell, Ellis Gillam, Stuart Howarth, Elliott Jenkins, Dec Grevory, Mike Weldon, Liam Carberry, Ryan Millington, Joe Ryan, Jack Cottington, Callum Wood, Nathan Reidy.


News Categories

AS lockdown restrictions start to ease, now is the time for everyone connected with Oldham RLFC to do all they can to help with getting income from our Club Cash lottery back to where it was before the pandemic started to bite.

This is vital for the club and its finances which, as you all know, have taken a massive hit in the past 12 months.

Collectors will be returning to door-to-door visits in the next few weeks and we hope people who suspended payments will pick up where they left off as we strive and work hard to get back to where we were before the pandemic caused us to lose 50 per cent of our lottery income.

Many of our regular punters, who would normally pay a collector, have answered our calls for help by finding other ways to pay and to retain their chances of winning prizes.

To those people we are very grateful and we would like to take this opportunity to thank them once again for their loyal and continued support.

The lottery, of course, is potentially one of our biggest fund-raisers and for as little as £1 a week — more if you wish — you can help the club immensely and at the same time have chances to win £1,000, £100, £50, £25 or one of ten consolation prizes of £10.

That’s the present prize structure. There’s every chance it will be increased once we are out of lockdown, door-to-door collections start again and we get back to some sort of normality.

In the meantime you can join, or start up again, by contacting the club on 07904 898177 or by email to: enquiries@roughyeds.co.uk

For more information about the lottery, and for the “great opportunities” provided by our partnership with the National Youth and Community Development Association (NYCDA) go our Club Cash page.

There, you will find all the results and a detailed statement about getting back to normal with the help of our not-for-profit partners.

All proceeds from the partnership will continue to support the club and help us to meet the aims of our Club Cash activities, particularly in its aims and objectives to be an active stakeholder in the local community.

Download Application Form

Spindles Town Centre
Swans Travel
CDX Security
1895 Sports
Purpose Marketing
Bamford Print
Oldham RLFC
Salford University
Oldham Times
Donkeystone Brewery
Betfred Championship
Property Buying
H Mullaney & Son

125 Years of the RFL

RFL 125 years


Social Media