Oldham RLFC

The Roughyeds


Rochdale Hornets to host third round draw

The draw for the third round of the Coral Challenge Cup will be broadcast by BBC Sport online Monday 27 January, 6.30pm), live from Rochdale Hornets’ Crown Oil Arena.

Hornets are one of 11 Betfred League 1 clubs going into the hat, alongside the 11 teams which emerged victorious from this weekend’s second round ties.

Presenting the draw will be the BBC’s Dave Woods, while the teams themselves will be drawn by the Rochdale-based St Helens duo Jack Ashworth and Matty Lees, the latter a product of the thriving local community club Rochdale Mayfield.

Mayfield claimed their place in the third round in dramatic fashion with a 19-18 drop-goal victory over GB Police. Joining them in the hat will be another side whose second round tie went down to the wire – the British Army, who fought from 6-16 down against Skirlaugh to take the game into extra-time before clinching a golden point winner courtesy of Ben O’Connell’s drop-goal.

Rochdale Hornets’ chief executive, Steve Kerr, says:

“It’s a real privilege to be asked to host the Challenge Cup draw and is another positive for Rochdale fans and sponsors alike.

“With the third round brought forward to 9 February our first competitive game is an unknown, so it adds to the excitement of who we’ll play as our 2020 season opener. With some quality teams in the draw, we’re hoping for a home draw.”

The following clubs (together with their ball numbers) will be in the hat.

  1. Barrow Raiders 2. Bentley 3. British Army 4. Coventry Bears 5. Doncaster 6. Hunslet 7. Ince Rose Bridge 8. Keighley Cougars 9. Leigh Miners Rangers 10. London Skolars 11. Newcastle Thunder 12. North Wales Crusaders 13. Rochdale Hornets 14. Rochdale Mayfield 15. Siddal 16. Thornhill Trojans 17. Underbank Rangers 18. West Bowling 19. West Hull 20. West Wales Raiders 21. Workington Town 22. York Acorn

Ties will be played on the weekend of 8/9 February.

13 Betfred Championship clubs will enter the competition at round four, followed by four Betfred Super League clubs at round five and the rest at round six.

BBC Sport and the Rugby Football League will continue to stream games up to and including the fifth round, with the BBC televising two ties from the sixth round and the quarter finals, and then both semi finals which will be played along with the Coral Women’s Challenge Cup Final in a triple header at the University of Bolton Stadium on Saturday 6 June.

The 2020 Coral Challenge Cup Final will be played at Wembley Stadium on Saturday 18 July.
The 2020 Coral Challenge Cup Final will be played at Wembley Stadium on Saturday 18 July. Tickets are available online at eticketing.co.uk/rugbyleague

2020 Coral Challenge Cup schedule

February 8-9: Third Round (11 Second Round winners, 11 Betfred League 1 clubs)
February 22-23: Fourth Round (11 Third Round winners, 13 English Betfred Championship clubs)
March 14-15: Fifth Round (12 Fourth Round winners, plus four Betfred Super League clubs – Huddersfield Giants, Hull KR, Toronto Wolfpack, Wakefield Trinity)
April 4-5: Sixth Round (8 Fifth Round winners, plus the remaining 8 Betfred Super League clubs)
May 9-10: Quarter Finals
June 6: Semi Finals
Saturday July 18: Final – Wembley Stadium connected by EE


News Categories

AS lockdown restrictions start to ease, now is the time for everyone connected with Oldham RLFC to do all they can to help with getting income from our Club Cash lottery back to where it was before the pandemic started to bite.

This is vital for the club and its finances which, as you all know, have taken a massive hit in the past 12 months.

Collectors will be returning to door-to-door visits in the next few weeks and we hope people who suspended payments will pick up where they left off as we strive and work hard to get back to where we were before the pandemic caused us to lose 50 per cent of our lottery income.

Many of our regular punters, who would normally pay a collector, have answered our calls for help by finding other ways to pay and to retain their chances of winning prizes.

To those people we are very grateful and we would like to take this opportunity to thank them once again for their loyal and continued support.

The lottery, of course, is potentially one of our biggest fund-raisers and for as little as £1 a week — more if you wish — you can help the club immensely and at the same time have chances to win £1,000, £100, £50, £25 or one of ten consolation prizes of £10.

That’s the present prize structure. There’s every chance it will be increased once we are out of lockdown, door-to-door collections start again and we get back to some sort of normality.

In the meantime you can join, or start up again, by contacting the club on 07904 898177 or by email to: enquiries@roughyeds.co.uk

For more information about the lottery, and for the “great opportunities” provided by our partnership with the National Youth and Community Development Association (NYCDA) go our Club Cash page.

There, you will find all the results and a detailed statement about getting back to normal with the help of our not-for-profit partners.

All proceeds from the partnership will continue to support the club and help us to meet the aims of our Club Cash activities, particularly in its aims and objectives to be an active stakeholder in the local community.

Download Application Form

Donkeystone Brewery
Bamford Print
Oldham Times
H Mullaney & Son
Property Buying
Oldham RLFC
Betfred Championship
Purpose Marketing
Spindles Town Centre
Salford University
1895 Sports
Swans Travel
CDX Security

125 Years of the RFL

RFL 125 years


Social Media