Oldham RLFC

The Roughyeds


Lions' Forsyth out injured

Swinton centre Liam Forsyth, injured in the early stages of last week’s Betfred Challenge Cup win against Newcastle Thunder, is out of Sunday’s second-round clash with Oldham at Heywood Road, which kicks off at 12.30pm.

The intriguing tie will be available to view FREE to Roughyeds fans all over the UK and, indeed, the world, given that it will be broadcast by the BBC on iPlayer, the Red Button and BBC Sport digital platforms. One of several new signings by Swinton this year, Forsyth damaged a leg in the first few minutes against Thunder.

Welsh international Rhodri Lloyd, the club captain, left the second row to replace the former Bath RU, Wigan Warriors and Leigh Centurions centre, while Louis Brogan joined Nick Gregson in the second-row off the bench.

Coach Stuart Littler must now decide whether to play Lloyd, his captain and club legend, in the forwards or in the backs.

Two former Roughyeds players are expected to be in the starting line-up — Richard Lepori on the wing and Will Hope at loose-forward. Kiwi Geronimo Doyle, another new signing, will probably be at full-back, having signed from a club in the senior league in Auckland with Maori Residents representative honours on his CV.

New boy Sam Brooks, an experienced prop who has previously played at Halifax, Featherstone and Leigh, will be in the front-row with hooker Luke Waterworth and Lewis Hatton.

Everything revolves around playmaker Martyn Ridyard, who will be joined at half-back by Jack Hansen, another talented operator.

SWINTON (probable): Doyle; Lepori, Lloyd, Cox, Butt; Ridyard, Hansen; Brooks, Waterworth, Hatton, Brogan, Gregson, Hope.

Also in Littler’s provisional 21-man squad are Jordan Brown, Tayler Brown, Sam Grant, Cobi Green, Paddy Jones, Deane Meadows, Paul Nash, Louis Roberts.*

Oldham have named the following 19: Dan Abram, James Barran, Liam Bent, Danny Bridge, Tommy Brierley, Lewis Charnock, Tyler Dupree, Matthew Fletcher, Callum Green, Joe Hartley, Ben Heaton, Ryan Ince, Phil Joy, Liam Kirk, Danny Langtree, Gareth Owen, Shaun Pick, Max Roberts, Jack Spencer.


News Categories

CDX Security


Social Media