Three clubs in the running to join Betfred League One in 2025


Club News

The RFL have received three formal applications to join the Betfred League One competition in 2025 – from Anglian Vipers, Bedford Tigers and Goole Vikings.

Applications had been invited earlier this year following the decision regarding a restructure of the divisions below the Betfred Super League, with a view to creating two divisions of 12 by the 2026 season.

After receiving 11 initial expressions of interest, the RFL set a deadline of June 28 for formal applications.

The three applications will now be considered, with visits to the applicants to assess their home stadia and other facilities, which will be followed by formal presentations at Rugby League’s Etihad Campus headquarters in August – and a decision expected by the end of September.

The existing Betfred League One clubs were updated on the process today.

Anglian Vipers are based in Wymondham, Norfolk, and play in the East Rugby League.

Bedford Tigers play in the Southern Conference League, and also field a Men’s team in the East Rugby League.

Goole Vikings play in the Yorkshire Men’s League.

Next Match

Crown Oil Arena, Rochdale

28th Jul 2024 | 3.00pm
Get Tickets

ORLFC Hospitality

Fantastic Experiences
Dinner, Drinks & Match in your own private box at Oldham RLFC.

Join an Exclusive Group

The 1876 Club
Exclusive private members club.

Match Preview


Match Report